RiP Kurt Cobain

Posted: April 5, 2011 in Ramblings...
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Celebrating celebrities on their birthdays, movie/song/album releases or their death’s is a not a new trend. In fact I think it has been around for ages.

Today the world celebrates Kurt Cobain on his Death Anniversary.

Kurt was popularly known as the lead singer and guitarist for the band Nirvana. Many of their fans mistake the genre for rock I want to clarify that Nirvana was not a rock band, it was a grunge band. The grunge genre is a subgenre of alternative rock music and its inspired from hardcore punk, heavy metal and indie rock. You can google those to get an idea of the type of music that comes under the headings. Grunge music, however, has to do with electric guitars and unkempt appearances of those involved in the business of the said genre. Take a look at Kurt in the photo above. Notice the messy hair, which after he’s worn it I’m sure has become a fashion statement and quickly taken on by trend followers. I wont say all grunge musicians have angst filled lyrics, I remember some deeply moving Pearl Jam lyrics but generally accepted lyrical characteristic of the genre is such.

Nirvana was formed by Kurt and Krist the year I was born, 1985. In 1991, the breakthrough with “smells like teen spirit” brought Nirvana to the fore front. Kurt became ‘the spokesman of a generation’ and Nirvana was labelled “the flagship band of Generation X”. That was the rise of Nirvana and Kurt both and its final fall was in part a result of Kurt’s death. Nirvana was one of the most loved bands among my group of friends and im talking mid 90’s when Metallica, Pearl Jam, Def Leppard were the only cassette’s I purchased from Radio City. Yes, the Backstreet Boys days. They was accepted by parents not the ‘noisy’ ‘chaotic’ music blaring from my room. My parents thought i was turning into an angry, rebellious teenager listening to the kind of music I did. Oh they have great taste in music, rest assured, Police & Queen were introduced to me by them but when it came to grunge I don’t think they understood the lyrics masked under the layers of heavily distorted electric guitars.

I didn’t know Kurt was married to Courtney Love until the year 2000. I was not obsessed with any band member of any of these groups like my friends with celebrity crushes on one backstreet boy with blonde hair. But my music preferences were formed in that time and though I listened to Roxette and Whitney Houston too I appreciated all types of Music. Hey, even backstreet boys came out with one good song, I have forgotten what it was. I do remember Boyzone though, but this post is not about them.

But like the many fans of Kurt Cobain and/or Nirvana I was never tempted to get high on drugs or wasted on alcohol. I still performed my daily prayers and there was no form of Satan worshipping that many like to believe occurs from listening to the kind of music they created. In fact Kurt’s famous saying “I’d rather be hated for who I am, than loved for who I am not.” triggers within the hearts of fans a feeling of self-respect, self-esteem, confidence and belief in self. But Kurt was mainly misinterpreted by media and his personal life was much affected by constant media interference influencing his life decisions. He was a heroine addict, there’s no doubt about that and even though there’s a lot of debate regarding his death, popular belief is that he shot himself and his suicide was much in part to his heroin addiction and media interference which gave birth to frustration and depression at large.

Whatever the reasons for his death, Kurt wrote amazing songs, gave us great music and he will be remembered for that always. His fan base is so loyal that they to date YouTube the same old songs over and over again, people like me still write about him, tweet and tell the next to generation X about his music. Nirvana is still catching on to music lovers and such is the beginning, after their physical end, of Legends.

Comments
  1. […] RiP Kurt Cobain (mahakhalid.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

